“You’d like Freedom, Truth, and Justice, wouldn’t you, Comrade Sergeant?” said Reg encouragingly.

“I’d like a hard boiled egg,” said Vimes, […] “Tomorrow the sun will come up again, and I’m pretty sure that whatever happens we wont have found Freedom, and there won’t be a whole lot of Justice, and I’m d*** sure we wont have found Truth. But it’s just possible that I might get a hard-boiled egg.”

-Terry Pratchett, “Night watch”

Dear Drake,

I want to thank you for the food you gave me Monday night. I was tired, and cranky, and really really hungry. People had basically pillaged the store. You didn’t have to make me anything while I went off to hermitize by myself, but you did. And while it wasn’t a hard-boiled egg, it was a soft-boiled one (really it was) and I tend to like those better anyway. So thanks for being the best face I saw that night. You really made my day.

Love,

Cozybooks

~ ~ ~

Maybe I should explain. I wanted to work on a value, and gratitude seemed as good a place as any to start. So you’ll probably see a lot more gratitude notes in the future–all true stories, I promise, with real people involved. Thanks for reading, and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

