It’s funny how life reminds you of things. Well, maybe it’s less a quirk of the Universe and more a prompting of the Spirit, which I’d be very inclined to believe. Because I don’t remember when I last thought of this, but sitting in church yesterday (which was awesome, by the way) I was struck with a thought I suddenly knew would be my motivation for today:

Be Still and Know that I Am God :: Meier Clinics

As school gets going and the temptation returns to hurry hurry hurry to get things done, and I have bad days and frantic days and days when I find out that I work an extra shift the next week… I can think of nothing more motivating than to remember that it’s ok to let it all go sometimes. To remember that:

  1. I don’t always have to have it under control–He does.
  2. Sometimes the things I think are really important in life… really aren’t.
  3. A quiet moment with no distractions–not even a phone or journal to take notes in–can lead to some beautiful moments that don’t necessarily need recording.

And I’m a great fan of Winston Churchill, and I do love that his advice to his people in WWII, and I continue to apply it often in my life… but when I compare the two, I still know which one is going to bring me more peace and will make my day go better:

BE STILL AND KNOW THAT I AM GOD Poster | CHING | Keep Calm-o-Matic   File:Keep-calm-and-carry-on.jpg - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Because while one might help me work through my day, the other will carry me on days when I can’t–and let me know whose day it is besides.

We’ll see how it goes, I’ll let you know tonight!

Word of God Speak Listen 1

Save

Leave a Reply

